The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Isiaka Oyetola, candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) winner in the Osun state governorship election.

This was announced by the returning officer of the election, Joseph Fuwape at INEC’s head office in Oshogbo.

According to Fuwape, Oyetola polled 255,505 votes to defeat Ademola Adeleke of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who had 255,023 votes.

Adeleke was leading by a margin of 325 votes in the election which held on Saturday but INEC declared the exercise inconclusive, saying the requirements for a winner to be declared were not met.

It subsequently fixed a rerun for Thursday. The rerun held across seven polling units in four local government areas.

The PDP has rejected the election, describing it as a charade.

Uche Secondus, national chairman of the party, had said the election exposed APC rigging formula for 2019.

The PDP candidate, Adeleke accused INEC of conspiring with the ruling party to thwart the will of the people.

According to him, the state was under siege during the rerun. He also lamented the attack on his supporters. He said that:

“This is not a free and fair election. Osun state is under siege; we are at war in Osun. They didn’t allow my party to vote.

“It’s only APC people they were allowed to vote. INEC and security agents have compromised. So, there is no election in Osun today. I urge INEC to cancel the election with immediate effect and declare me the winner because I’ve already won the election”.

The election witnessed intimidation and attack of voters, observers and journalists across the seven polling units where the exercise held. And some election observers have declared the election a fraud.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: