By Godson Ikiebey-

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has officially declared the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Darius Ishaku, as the winner of the governorship election held on Saturday, March 9, 2019 in Taraba State.

Shehu Iya, the Returning Officer for the election, made the pronouncement at about 3.50 am on Tuesday, March 12, 2019 at the INEC office in Jalingo.

According to Iya, the PDP candidate and current governor of the state scored a total vote of 520, 433 while the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Sani Danladi recorded 362, 735 across the 16 LGAs in state.

Since 1999, the PDP has never lost a governorship election in Taraba State.

The breakdown of the election results show that the PDP won in 12 LGAs of the 16 LGAs in the state, while the APC won in the other 4 LGAs.

PDP’s biggest win was recorded in Wukari LGA where the party pulled a total of 92,527 while the APC had 34,995 votes

The PDP also had it good in Takum LGA where the present governor hails from as they recorded 50,562 votes compared to APC’s 14,014.

For the APC, their biggest win was in Jalingo LGA where the party got 58,511 compared to the PDP’s 31,917.

In all, the Total Registered Voters for Saturday’s election was 1, 777, 105 while the Total Accredited Voters were 931, 539.

The valid votes from Saturday’s polls were 909,716 and the total votes cast was 925, 320.

The rejected votes across the 16 LGAs were 15604.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: